Organisers and Speakers 2022


Kris Thielemans

Kris is a Professor in Medical Imaging Physics at UCL.

Maria Tziraki

Maria is a Lecturer at UCL and Course Leader of the Health and Bioscience IDEAS training programme.

Paddy Slator

Paddy is a Senior Research Fellow at UCL, based in CMIC.

with Dominique Drai and Elena Scali.


See below for our current lineup of confirmed speakers – watch this space for more additions!

Daniel Alexander

Danny is Director of CMIC and Director of Research in the Computer Science Department at UCL. He leads CMIC's Microstructure Imaging Group (MIG: and Progression of Neurodegenerative Diseases (POND: initiative.

Yipeng Hu

Yipeng is a Lecturer in Surgical and Interventional Sciences WEISS Centre UCL.

Laura Panagiotaki

Laura is a EPSRC Principal Research Fellow at the Centre for Medical Image Computing.

Frederik Barkhof
Fred is a Professor of Neuroradiology at the Institutes of Biomedical Engineering and Neurology at UCL in London to translate novel imaging techniques for neurological disease and leads the Queen Square MS Centre Trial Unit, involved in analysis of multicentre drug trials.
Vivek Muthurangu

Vivek is Professor of Cardiovascular Imaging and Physics at UCL

Adrien Desjardin

Adrien is Professor of Biomedical Engineering at UCL.

Dave Cash

Dave is a Principal Research Associate at the Queen Square Institute Of Neurology Dementia Research Centre.

Marta Betcke

Marta is an Associate Professor in CMIC.

Danail Stoyanov

Dan is Professor of Robot Vision at UCL and Director of the Wellcome/EPSRC Centre for Interventional and Surgical Science (WEISS).

Joseph Jacob

Joe is a Thoracic Radiologist and Wellcome Trust Clinical Research Career Development Fellow between the UCL Department of Computer Science and UCL Respiratory.

Catherine Scott

Catherine is a clinical physicist working across UCL and UCLH

Catarina Veiga

Catarina is a Royal Academy of Engineering Senior Research Fellow at UCL.

Pearse Keane

Pearse is a Professor of Artificial Medical Intelligence, UKRI Future Leaders Fellow, and Consultant Ophthalmologist based at UCL and Moorfields Eye Hospital.

Alex Young

Alex is an MRC Skills Development Fellow at King's College London.

Godwin Ogbole

Godwin is Associate Professor of Radiology at the University of Ibadan, Nigeria.

Adam Szmul

Adam is a Research Fellow at CMIC.

Ester Bonmati Coll

Ester is a Senior Research Fellow at CMIC and WEISS.

Ioannis-Angelos Giapitzakis

Ioannis is Ultra-high field global business manager and solution owner at  Siemens Healthineers.

Maria Robu

Maria is Principal AI Research Engineer at Digital Surgery, a Medtronic company.

Jesus Rogel-Salazar

Jesus is Chief Technology Officer at TympaHealth Technologies.